Author Archives: vonmuench

SuSanA webinar: Panel discussion on How to Influence and Engage Government in Sanitation – 1400 GMT 17 May 2017

Please join us a SuSanA webinar on ‘How to influence and engage government for sanitation’ scheduled for Wednesday May 17th 2017 at 14:00 GMT (UK Time).

Access to water and sanitation is a human right. But saying this isn’t enough to get a commitment from governments. To achieve SDG 6, we need to engage and influence government officials who are likely to have limited funding and competing priorities. If we understand the positions and challenges of these officials, we will be better able to engage them. Then we can influence governments at the local, provincial and national levels to give higher priority to sanitation services.

The panel discussion will take place on 17th May at 1400 GMT. You can register here . We are inviting SuSanA members to post their questions to the panel in the forum here – http://forum.susana.org/146-webinars-and-online-meetings/21379-panel-discussion-on-how-to-influence-and-engage-government-in-sanitation-1400-gmt-17-may-2017.

We have collected three experienced organisations that have worked to influence and engage governments on the challenges of WASH advocacy.

The World Toilet Organisation (WTO) has been working to influence and incentivise governments since its inception in 2001. They successfully advocated to establish World Toilet Day (WTD) as an official event on the UN calendar in 2014. Since then, they have used WTD to persuade governments around the world to invest in toilet systems..

WaterAid have worked with other organisations to make available user-friendly guidance aimed at local government officials. Their materials help officials better understand access to sanitation as a human right and to prioritise sanitation investment. You can read more about it here.

BRAC is the world’s largest development organisation and operates across 11 countries. They have achieved massive improvements in WASH in Bangladesh by encouraging the government to understand the importance of investing in sanitation.

Presenters:
Mr. Jack Sim – Founder, World Toilet Organisation

Ms. Louisa Gosling – Quality Programme Manager, WaterAid

Mr. Akramual Islam – Director of WASH, BRAC

Schedule: The discussion will last approximately 1.5 hours with three panellists and an open discussion with participants. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

Time:
New Delhi, India Wed, 17 May 2017 at 18:30 IST
New York, USA Wed, 17 May 2017 at 09:00 EST
Nairobi, Kenya Wed, 17 May 2017 at 16:00 EAT
Hanoi, Vietnam Wed, 17 May 2017 at 20:00 ICT
Stockholm, Sweden Wed, 17 May 2017 at 15:00 CET

To join the webinar please follow this link: seint.adobeconnect.com/seiwebinar/
To register to receive reminders please follow this link: www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration

 

SuSanA webinar: ‘Multi-Sectoral Actions for WASH – the theoretical vs. the practical’ on Tuesday, March 21st 2017 at 14:00 CET (Stockholm time)

Please join us for our next SuSanA webinar on ‘Multi-Sectoral Actions for WASH – the theoretical vs. the practical’ on Tuesday, March 21st 2017 at 14:00 CET (Central European time).

Background:

Over the past few years there has been a growing understanding of the need to integrate WASH messages into other sectors. WASH is critical in preventing malnutrition due to the effects of environmental enteric dysfunction from an unhygienic environment, is essential for reducing maternal and neonatal mortality rates by preventing sepsis, and is key in early childhood development by allowing children to reach their full potential. WASH really is foundational and therefore requires awareness of the programming of many other sectors. While the need to integrate is clear, best practices have not yet been compiled, and common obstacles face many who strive for more complete integration.

Content of the webinar

In this webinar, we will begin by exploring definitions of integration. A continuum of integration, from small programme adjustments to move towards integration to the ideal of what a fully integrated programme could look like, will be shared from the BabyWASH Coalition. Practical examples will then be shared for how countries have successfully moved along that continuum from World Vision’s experience in Uganda, and ACF’s experience in compiling a new WASH and Nutrition guidebook. There will be plenty of time left at the end for participants to share their success stories for WASH integration and place their experiences on the integration continuum that has been shared.

Links:
– ACF WASH and Nutrition 2017 Guidebook: www.actionagainsthunger.org.uk/publicati…ition-2017-guidebook
– BabyWASH Coalition Website: babywashcoalition.org/

Schedule: The webinar will last approximately one hour. We will also open the session 15 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

Time:
09:00 New York/Washington DC
13:00 London
14:00 Stockholm
16:00 Nairobi
18:30 New Delhi
20:00 Hanoi

Registration: You can join the webinar by following this link seint.adobeconnect.com/seiwebinar/. You can also register here to receive more information and reminders: www.susana.org/en/webinarregistrationbabywash

The webinar is being hosted by SEI, the SuSanA secretariat, and the BabyWASH Coalition as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

SuSanA invites you to take part in a Wikipedia Edit-a-thon to celebrate World Water Day now

Stockholm. March 10, 2017. The Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSanA) is calling on the help of the world’s billions of toilet users and Wikipedia enthusiasts for a major upgrade of Wikipedia’s sanitation-related pages between now and World Water Day on  22 March.

Image about edit-a-thon for tweeting

Sustainable Development Goal 6 (SDG6) calls for everyone everywhere to have access to clean water and decent sanitation by 2030. This Edit-a thon is a chance to help realize this ambition.

Working around the world and around the clock, anyone can join the SuSanA Wikipedia Edit-a-thon.  Simply register here to join the group of volunteers and start editing: registration link

Continue reading

SuSanA webinar: Learning from experiences in urban and rural sanitation marketing, Feb 15th, 15:30 CET (Stockholm time)

Please join us a SuSanA webinar on ‘Learning from experiences in urban and rural sanitation marketing’ scheduled for Wednesday February 15th 2017 at 15:30 CET (Stockholm time).

Overview:

The term “sanitation marketing” has come to mean different things to different people. In this webinar, we will explore two different approaches to sanitation marketing, one in the urban context, and one in rural areas.

Simon Okoth of the Water Services Trust Fund in Kenya will provide insights on the key elements of success in the Up-Scaling Basic Sanitation for the Urban Poor (UBSUP) programmme in urban, low-income areas of Kenya. The UBSUP sanitation social marketing approach is an elaborate marketing methodology that aims to improve access to basic sanitation services and is built along the entire sanitation chain. It targets, both the households and tenants, the policy makers, the service providers (water service providers) and entrepreneurs (private sector) with targeted messages to inspire them to play their roles in improving sanitation services for the residents of urban low income areas. The approach is established around 10 critical Ps (people, place, product, price, participation, promotion, policy, programs, positioning and partnerships).

Greg Lestikow of iDE will then delve into his organization’s rural sanitation marketing work in several countries. Although iDE’s approach differs by country, each program is driven by the common principles of designing solutions to context and building both supply capacity and consumer demand for sanitation solutions. Mr. Lestikow will outline critical program components and present techniques for measuring and improving sustainability as market-based sanitation programs reach scale.

Presenters:
Simon Okoth is a WASH specialist and Urban Investment Manager at the Kenya Water Services Trust Fund in Kenya. He has extensive knowledge and experience in areas spanning across WASH programmes, concepts development, programming, implementation, monitoring and evaluation.

Greg Lestikow is iDE’s WASH Innovation and Performance Manager. He brings his background in development economics and rigorous evaluation to support iDE’s seven WASH country programs, which together have facilitated the sale of over 450,000 hygienic latrines

Schedule: The webinar will last approximately 1 hour with two presentations and an open discussion with webinar participants. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

The webinar is being hosted by Stockholm Environment Institute and the SuSanA secretariat as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Time:
New Delhi, India Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 20:00 IST
New York, USA Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 09:30 EST
Nairobi, Kenya Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 17:30 EAT
Hanoi, Vietnam Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 21:30 ICT
London, United Kingdom Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 14:30 GMT

To join the webinar please follow this link: seint.adobeconnect.com/seiwebinar/
To register to receive reminders please follow this link: www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration

SuSanA monthly webinar: Climate change and the water cycle: decarbonizing the water and wastewater sector -Thurs 15 Dec, 13:00 BST (London time)

Please join us for the last SuSanA webinar of the year, on ‘Climate change and the water cycle: decarbonizing the water and wastewater sector’ scheduled for Thursday December 15th 2016 at 13:00 BST (London time).

Overview:

Climate Change is water change. The effects and impacts of climate change are most dramatically felt through changes in water. But what is the role that water plays in the international climate debate and which opportunities for collaboration exist to combat climate change?

This webinar will discuss how climate change is aggravating the challenges that water and wastewater utilities face and strategies for decarbonizing the sector. Water managers in developing and emerging economies are confronted with meeting an increased demand for water and wastewater services of a growing urban population coupled with reduced water availability and the growing pressure to reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. A carbon accounting tool for utilities is presented (Energy and Carbon Assessment and Monitoring), which supports utilities in optimizing their energy use and wastewater treatment processes to improve their carbon footprint.

Case studies from Peru, Mexico and Thailand demonstrate that through energy generation from biogas, energy efficient pumps, water loss reduction and water reuse, carbon emissions can be significantly reduced across the urban water cycle.

Presenters:
– Dr. Astrid Michels, GIZ, Project Manager of the Water and Wastewater Companies for Climate change Mitigation Project
– Willy Alarcon, GIZ, Senior Advisor WaCCliM Financing & Carbon Market

Schedule: The webinar will last approximately 45 minutes with two presentations and an open discussion with webinar participants. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

The webinar is being hosted by Stockholm Environment Institute and the SuSanA secretariat as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Time:
8:00 New York/Washington DC
13:00 London
14:00 Stockholm
15:00 Nairobi
17:30 New Delhi
19:00 Hanoi
23:00 Sydney

To register please follow this link: www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration-dec-15

To see the SuSanA forum post for updates: http://forum.susana.org/component/kunena/146-webinars-and-online-meetings/19737-susana-webinar-climate-change-and-the-water-cycle-decarbonizing-the-water-and-wastewater-sector-thursday-dec-15th-1300-bst-london-time

SuSanA webinar: Improving Wikipedia’s sanitation content for online or offline use – Thurs 24 Nov, 9:00 am CET (Stockholm time)

Please join us for a webinar titled ‘Improving Wikipedia’s sanitation content for online or offline use’ scheduled for Thursday November 24th 2016 at 9:00 CET (Stockholm time).

Overview:
This webinar will explore the importance and potential of Wikipedia for spreading information and awareness about sanitation topics, be it online or offine, in English or in other languages. It will show you how easy it is to become involved by improving Wikipedia content, which may be as simple as correcting typos or clarifying sentences, or more involved by creating new articles, adding images, adding new references or helping other editors. We will demonstrate how editing on Wikipedia is done, so that you can then try it out for yourself.

The webinar will also provide information about Kiwix, a free offline reader for Wikipedia content. Kiwix has created an App called “Wikimed App” which not only contains all medical content from Wikipedia but also more than 400 Wikipedia articles dealing with sanitation-related topics.

Finally, we will also introduce to you the Wikipedia “WikiProject Sanitation” which is a group of Wikipedians interested in improving Wikipedia’s coverage on sanitation related topics. This project began in December of 2014. The WikiProject Sanitation seeks to benefit the world by giving the general public and professionals in all areas that touch on sanitation topics (such as public health, infrastructure, water, agriculture, gender, environment, poverty, etc.) information which they can all read, appreciate, and respect, free of charge.

Presenters:

-Elisabeth von Münch – Community manager of SuSanA Discussion Forum, Wikipedian, leader of Wikipedia’s WikiProject Sanitation

-Stéphane Coillet-Matillon – Director of Kiwix, Wikipedian, former executive director of Wikimedia Switzerland

Schedule: The webinar will last approximately 45 minutes. It will start with two short inputs by the two presenters to set the scene (about 7 minutes each). After that, it will be a question & answer session with the participants, including hands-on tutorial session on how to edit Wikipedia. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants, and also submit your questions.

Some example questions that have already been submitted and which will be addressed include:

  • How does Wikipedia actually work?
  • What are the benefits of crowd-sourced information?
  • How good is the information?
  • What are the system’s built in protections against poor quality info?
  • How do Wikipedia articles compare with peer-reviewed articles?
  • How can SuSanA partners enhance organizational learning and expand the knowledge base through Wikipedia?
  • How does editing work and how does one get started with editing?

The webinar is being hosted by Stockholm Environment Institute and the SuSanA secretariat as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Example times:

0:00 (midnight) Seattle or Los Angeles (USA)
3:00 am New York (USA), Quito (Ecuador)
8:00 am London (UK)
9:00 am Stockholm (Sweden)
10:00 am Nairobi (Kenya)
13:30 pm New Delhi (India)
15:00 pm Hanoi (Vietnam)
19:00 pm Sydney (Australia)

Check your local times here: www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

Registration and access link:

To register for the webinar please follow this link: www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration-nov-24

More information:  http://forum.susana.org/component/kunena/146-webinars-and-online-meetings/19556-susana-monthly-webinar-6-improving-wikipedias-sanitation-content-for-online-or-offline-use-thursday-24-november-900-am-cet-stockholm-time

 

SuSanA webinar: Anticipating the next wave of eLearning in the WASH sector, Thursday October 6th 2016 at 13:00 BST (London time)

Please join us for a webinar titled ‘Anticipating the next wave of eLearning in the WASH sector’ scheduled for Thursday October 6th 2016 at 13:00 BST (London time).

Overview:
Since 2013, Eawag-Sandec has developed an open-access eLearning series entitled “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development”. The courses are offered as Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) on the internet platform Coursera and have reached a global audience with around 30,000 learners and 4,000 course completers.

In the first part of this webinar, we would like to share our experiences and discuss opportunities and pitfalls of MOOCs in the WASH sector. Can you massively reach students and practitioners in low- and middle-income countries with MOOCs? To which extent can you replace face-to-face university lectures with a MOOC? The second part will look ahead trying to anticipate the next wave of eLearning in the WASH sector.

Presenters:
– Fabian Suter: Coordinator of the MOOC-series at Sandec-Eawag
– Dr. Christoph Lüthi: Department head of Sandec-Eawag and main lecturer of the MOOC “Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies”

Links:
– MOOC series” Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development”: http://www.eawag.ch/mooc
– Trailer of our most recent course “Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies “:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgHWg270mPystIe5rVFOvCA

Schedule: The webinar will last approximately 45 minutes including an open discussion with webinar participants. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

The webinar is being hosted by Stockholm Environment Institute and the SuSanA secretariat as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Time:
8:00 New York/Washington DC
13:00 London
14:00 Stockholm
15:00 Nairobi
19:00 Hanoi
23:00 Sydney

Forum link for more info: http://forum.susana.org/component/kunena/146-webinars-and-online-meetings/19160-anticipating-the-next-wave-of-elearning-in-the-wash-sector-thursday-october-6th-2016-at-1300-bst-london-time#19160

To register please follow this link: http://www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration